What is it about me and exams?

Tuesday 13 May, 2008.  Unlucky for some…

It was about Ten o’Clock in the morning and I was about to start a days revision from my Spanish exam the next day.  I’d had a bit of a lie in, and was finally ready to open the books… right after I check the internet.

I decided to double check where the exam was being held, just so I was sure, so I logged on to my university’s website and clicked along to the exams page, saw where the exam was being held, and at what time and on what date… oh fuck.

Oh fuck! The exam was today!!

Here was the dim realisation that I had missed the start of my Spanish exam and was now beyond the half-hour boundary that they permit late-comers into the exam room.  I had completely convinced myself that the exam was on Wednesday 14th May – which was in fact the date of my French exam – so much so that, ironically I had told my housemate that I wouldn’t be walking with him to university that day as I didn’t need to be on campus.

After I finished stressing over the fact that my parents were going to disown me, I headed out to the university quickly after that to try and do some damage control. The people in the Languages office (including a professor who is basically an English Doctor Cox) were a great help and advised handing in a mitigations form and said they would argue the case for me to do a sit before the end of the exam period as opposed to a resit, which they did manage to do.

Thursday 5th June, 2008

I completed the exam, which went far better than I imagined it would, and found out the reason the Spanish department were willing to give me a second chance with the exam.  Initially I had thought it was because it was my “first offence” and it had been a genuine mistake, but have now been corrected.

I had sat the exam with four other students who had made exactly the same mistake as me, I knew this before I went into the exam room.  What I didn’t find out until after the exam was that the Spanish lecturer who had watched over us during the exam had himself missed an exam he was supposed to invigilate, once again, because he confused the dates.  I’m thinking when a lecturer misses the exam, the pupils get a bit more leniency too

So does Hispanic Studies breed incompetence or are absent minded people generally drawn to the subject?

Explore posts in the same categories: Deftness for Daftness, University

Leave a Reply

